The Church is a Tough Anvil!

Some were surprised to see me recently alluding to a quotation from John Knox in a recent comment (“monstrous regimen”). I will double the scandal by today quoting from another Protestant reformer, Theodore Beza.

I came across this quotation early this morning while preparing material for my intensive course on the Reformation at Nazareth House in Ballarat this weekend (all invited – see here). I think it is a good one for us today, even though Beza originally meant it in a different context. It is a comment that was made to Huguenot King Henry of Navarre (later Catholic Henry IV of France of “Paris is worth a mass” fame):

Sire, it is truly the lot of the Church of God, for which I speak, to endure blows and not to strike them. But may it please you to remember that it is an anvil which has worn out many hammers.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Church is a Tough Anvil!

  1. Paul G

    Hi David, I see you are giving an intensive course on Christian Traditions at the CAEC in Sydney on 2 and 3 Sept. I’ve attended a couple of these courses and I hope to see you there,
    cheers,
    Paul

    • Terrific, Paul. Yes, I am going to be there on 2nd and 3rd of September. Anyone else in Sydney who would like to do this course is more than welcome to join us. The CAEC folk will be more than happy to take enrollments! I will do a separate post on this – but I can’t find the course on their website right now.

  2. Matthias

    Talking about the Church. Last night at my church’s midweek service,one of the older men,a lifelong Baptist preacher,in speaking to the congregation,said that we as the church-everywhere he meant- must break down the walls that exist with the prevailing culture and that Church’s are just Christian clubs if they do not do this.
    He also said that for our specific church there was a need for people -mainly men – 20-39 to act as Church planters in order to get the young people.
    I would appreciate the thoughts of my fellow blog writers here on these two statements. I know that there are Catholic groups here in melbourne ,such as the Exodus Community and the Holy Spirit of Freedom Community who are breaking the walls and who are also acting anvils to the surrounding culture. I also felt that the age setting although perhaps important,immediately had the capacity to alienate people who were a lot older and who had worked quietly and effectively in their parishes/congregations. It may account for why when i responded to a call for assistance on a Sunday morning ,there was no response or reply??! I might be a tad paranoid too.